Bridging the Gap

April 20, 2K15

It’s interesting to be asked explicitly where I want to teach and what degrees I want to accumulate. While I have most definitely thought about it and have even gone as far as meticulously and humorously planning out the rest of my life, I don’t want to become stuck in the future. If anything, I want to stray from becoming a mind constantly tangled in the labyrinth of deliberately achieving goals simply to find temporary satisfaction alongside a deeper desire to accumulate even more.

With that being said, after I graduate next December, I would love to teach abroad or get involved with Teach For America. On another note, I could also see myself moving to Montana to be closer to my family and getting a masters degree in one thing or another. Whichever I decide, my personal goal remains the same. I want to be a part of a community, of a school, that exhibits and thrives with an agreement and understanding being simply this: The success of the each individual as well as the student body as a whole, goes much further and much deeper than their grade point averages.
High school is a time of critical and monumental development, physically, emotionally, sexually, spiritually, intellectually, etc. Academics are the forefront of growth because it allows students the opportunity to think for themselves in a way they may not have recognized prior to. Knowledge is power, surely, but so is the development of grasping what compels you, what bores you, what defines you.
My mission is to serve students and co-workers in a way that betters them as individuals. My goal is to act as a support system, a sort of stepping stone between where you are and discovering where it is you want to end up. I love the, “Bridging the gap” metaphor because it applies to many situations, but it fits perfectly with education.
May we persistently be a people, a system, a community of educators and students who continue to re-walk the paths we’ve paved thus far, as well as continue to seek new routes in hopes of bridging the gap between who we are and who we are capable of becoming.
-b
Leave a Reply

