CherylStrayed.

6.20.15

I’ve yet to come across a woman and a writer with as much honesty and backbone as Strayed. God, I hope she never stops putting a pen to paper.

All her words scream, heal. 

“I made it the mantra of those days; when I paused before yet another series of switchbacks or skidded down knee-jarring slopes, when patches of flesh peeled off my feet along with my socks, when I lay alone and lonely in my tent at night I asked, often out loud: Who is tougher than me? The answer was always the same, and even when I knew absolutely there was no way on this earth that it was true, I said it anyway: No one.”

“I suppose this is what I meant when I wrote what I did, sweet pea, about how it is we cannot possibly know what will manifest in our lives. We live and have experiences and leave people we love and get left by them. People we thought would be with us forever aren’t and people we didn’t know would come into our lives do. Our work here is to keep faith with that, to put it in a box and wait. To trust that someday we will know what it means, so that when the ordinary miraculous is revealed to us we will be there, standing before the baby girl in the pretty dress, grateful for the smallest things.”

“Be about ten times more magnanimous than you believe yourself capable of. Your life will be a hundred times better for it.”

“Write like a motherfucker.”

-b

Leave a Reply

