Slow.

9.30.15

I’m reading, Savor: Living Abundantly Where You Are, as You Are currently. Shauna Niequist’s words still the being inside of me constantly going rampant with the idolization of busyness and achievement and work. I’ve been ill the past few days, and because of this I’ve been spending a majority of my time, sleeping. My body still aches and there’s a persistent thump in my cranium, but I’m not rushed today. I don’t care about packing enough food to fuel my brain for an entire day in school, or what is due in a few hours for my night class. My thoughts haven’t once traveled to my e-mail account buzzing with notifications, or my phone vibrating somewhere in the corner of my room.

What if we could spend our lives with this sort of acute awareness? What if we could be fully present every moment of every minute of every day? What would that look like for you? What would you need to cut out of your schedule in order for you to attain this ease?

Stop the glorification of busy.

The obsession has formed roots in my life, and I’m ready to grab a shovel. I’m ready to do the dirty work. To start over.

Make it your ambition to lead a quiet life -1Thessalonians 4:11

I dare you.

-b

Leave a Reply

