DoDoDoDon’t.

11.2.15

I want to explore motivation.

What makes people do what they do? More clearly, what makes people want to do what they do? What drives a human to continue on in their journey from point A to point B? Why are you here, reading this? Why did you wake up and go to school, or work? Why’d you stay at home sulking?

I don’t know what the answer is for you, and it wasn’t until just recently that I asked myself the same questions. And it wasn’t until a few moments ago that I blatantly answered them.

Why am I frantically typing inquiries to you? Why do I spend more time with abstract ideas than with concrete concepts? Why do I write more than I speak? Why do I ask and answer these subjective questions? Why am I in the constant pursuit of figuring out who we are as a community?

To be blunt, because I want to. Because when I think of a day spent well, I think of a few words strung together with a bigger purpose behind them. I think of a blank page and an opportunity to bring life and light to an idea previously unexplored. I think of arousing a new perspective for someone, anyone. I feel empowered when the tips of my fingers are smacking away at something bigger than myself. I want to share that.

I go through the motions of school and the monotony of work because those are the steps needed in order for me to one day, do what I want, when I want, for as long as I want.

Why do you do what you do?

If you don’t know, I implore you to change something, even if it be your current frame of mind. We will never become more developed as a human race until we do the work we need to do, which inevitably, is the work we want to do.

Happy Monday, friends.

-b

Leave a Reply

