FORALLTHELADIES.

3.7.16

“My own sex, I hope, will excuse me, if I treat them like rational creatures, instead of flattering their fascinating graces, and viewing them as if they were in a state of perpetual childhood, unable to stand alone. I earnestly wish to point out in what true dignity and human happiness consists- I wish to persuade women to endeavor to acquire strength, both of mind and body, and to convince them that the soft phrases, susceptibility of heart, delicacy of sentiment, and refinement of taste, are almost synonymous with epithets of weakness, and that those beings who are only the objects of pity and that kind of love, which has been termed its sister, will soon become objects of contempt.” -Mary Wollstonecraft

I want to use all the curse words in the word in order to depict the amount of crazed joy I feel pulsing through my veins. Wollstonecraft ends her small analysis with “..intellect will always govern” and I could not agree any more.

Thank the good Lord for women who are fierce enough to fight for their brilliance while in the ever-present trenches of being marginalized.

Fight the good fight.

-b

Leave a Reply

